Maharashtra is the second largest state in India both in terms of population and geographical area (3.08 lakh sq. km.). The State has a population of around 11 crore (Census 2011) which is 9.3 per cent of the total population of India. The State is highly urbanized with 45 per cent people residing in urban areas. The State has 36 districts which are divided into six revenue divisions viz. Konkan, Pune, Nashik, Aurangabad, Amravati and Nagpur for administrative purposes, with effective machinery for planning at the district level. For local self-governance in rural areas, there are 33 Zilla Parishads, 351 Panchayat Samitis and 27,873 Gram Panchayats. The urban areas are governed through 26 Municipal Corporations, 220 Municipal Councils, 12 Nagar Panchayats and seven Cantonment Boards.
Ahmednagar Akola Amravati Aurangabad Bhandara Beed Buldhana Chandrapur Dhule Gadchiroli Gondia Hingoli
Jalna Jalgaon Kolhapur Latur Mumbai Nagpur Nanded Nandurbar Nashik Osmanabad Palghar Parbhani
Pune Raigad Ratnagiri Sangli Satara Sindhudurg Solapur Thane Wardha Washim Yavatmal  

 Last Update:4/8/2015 11:11:03 AM

Copyright © 2013.  Environment Department.  All Rights Reserved.
Maintained by ENVIS, Environment and Climate Change Department, New Administrative Building, Mantralaya, Mumbai.